A Fresh Start

On Monday, classes begin again at my university. Winter break is always one of the most confusing times for me in terms of keeping track what day it is, and I’m always a little bit surprised by how the new semester sneaks up on you. That being said, I feel pretty good about my preparation this time around. Generally speaking, I spend a lot of time thinking about what I’m going to do in the classroom, but this time I kicked it into high gear. In addition to getting the syllabus done (huzzah!), I also wrote out lesson plans for each day I’ll be teaching this semester. Some of these plans are more detailed than others, and more info will be added/things may be rearranged as the semester proceeds, but generally speaking, I have a good idea of what I’ll be doing each day.

I did this for a couple different reasons. First, I’ve done it before (though admittedly not as thoroughly as I did it this semester), and I realized that taking some time in the beginning to figure it out will really save me time in the long run (I think all those unit plans I had to do in secondary ed really did a good job of making me think about the long game). The other big reason is that I’m starting my dissertation this semester (well…theoretically), and I have various other writing projects  that I’ll be working on throughout the semester as well. Planning my teaching ahead allows me to spend more time throughout the semester focused on my writing. It also frees up more time for when I need to assess student work. I also went ahead and wrote out all of the assignment prompts. In the past, I’ve typically had some done when the semester started and written others as the we progressed through the semester. But knowing that it usually takes me a while to write the prompts, I just went ahead and got that out of the way as well.

And so, leaning into this new semester, I’m feeling perhaps a little less harried than usual. I’m actually extra excited for next week’s classes because I know what we’ll be doing, and I think they’re going to be awesome days (Is my idealism showing? hmm). I’m teaching a documentary class this semester, and I’m really looking forward to digging into the assortment of films I’ve chosen (talk about your difficult choices…) with my students. Annnnd they’re going to be making their own documentaries this semester, which is the sort of thing that, when I added it to the syllabus, both made me slightly nervous and super happy ¯\_(ツ)_/¯.

At any rate, I’m looking forward to getting started!

Leave a Reply

